HigterFrequency DISK REVIEW




Label : Soma Recordings / Cat No. : SOMA CD046
Format : Mix CD / Released : 17 Apr 2006
Style : Minimal, Techno

The second in the Sci.Fi.Hi.Fi series from the Glaswegian Soma Recordings is proudly brought to you by DC:10's newest resident Luciano. The last time we heard from the South American DJ/producer as far as mix CDs are concerned was way back in 2003 when he was in charge of mixing "Party News- Electro-House" for Swiss label DJ Beat Records. That was around three years ago now so unless you have been getting to his favourite club, Weetamix on a regular basis you are surely craving some more from the popular Chilean.

The misconception that you are going to be able to just chill out and perhaps even fall asleep while listening to this CD will last you precisely one minute and twenty-two seconds. That's because that is exactly how long the ambient, spaced out intro provided by Spanish outfit D.uni:son lasts. As soon as Cabanne's 'Boulinge' comes in it is abundantly clear that this mix is going to evoke plenty of head bopping, feet tapping and the occasional fist pump. From here on in on the mix continues to strengthen with the bass driving and the groove rolling no doubt thanks to Luciano's Latin roots, which is no more evident than during the guitar fuelled outro from Kuniyuki of Mulemusiq.

There are of course moments during the mix where we allowed to catch our breath, for example when we take a seat at the bar at the 'Starship Discotheque'. These rest periods don't last long however thanks to the refreshingly short track lengths supplied by the man behind the decks. Along with Luciano's unsurpassed DJ sense, the short and sharp tracks help to deliver a true musical journey where only those with the keenest of ears will spot any structural flaws.

The excursion Luciano guides us through is full of twists and turns. Phage and Daniel Dreier's offering takes us down deep, 'Walking Contradiction (Part 1)' propels us along while simultaneously toughening us up and Alejandro Vivanco forces us to shake our proverbial groove thing. This all comes as no surprise however to anyone who has been fortunate enough to catch one of Luciano's well sculpted sets in the past.

The mix is astonishingly free from any self advertising by the label, although a couple of artists that Soma represents do make their way onto the CD even if it is with releases on other labels. Also making appearances are a few of Luciano's friends from the Nardo Niki Project (Villalobos and Cabanne) as well as label mates from Perlon and Cadenza. Whatever the reasons behind the track selection it is impossible to deny that this CD is a very worthy addition to Ewan Pearson's mix that kicked off the very promising series. (Nick Lawrence)

1.D.uni:son / Orange
2.Cabanne / Boulinge
3.John Thomas / Basilic
4.Tadeo / Bateria Lup!
5.Samim and Michal / Exercise EP
6.Framework /
7.Lineas De Nazca / Eje Central
8.Serafin / Starship Discotheque
9.P. Specke and D. Maxim / Rio Besenreiser
10.Matt John / The Rising Scope
11.Butane / Next
12.Solieb / Love Song
13.Donnacha Costello / Ok, That's Great, Start Over
14.Phage and Daniel Dreier / Chicks 'n Chips
15.Adam Beyer / Walking Contradiction (Part 1)
16.2000 and One / Sunday
17.Alejandro Vivanco / Las Velas No Arden
18.Ricardo Villalobos / Ichso
19.Thomas Melchior & Luciano / Father
20.Huggotron by J. Dahlback / Glasshouse
21.Kuniyuki/ Earth Beats (Percussion Dub)

Related Article

Related Link