HigterFrequency OVERSEAS NEWS


Rob Da Bank and Chris Coco / Listen Again

international news _ 20th October, 2006

Rob And Coco Re-Listen

Text by Nick Lawrence (HigherFrequency)

BBC Radio 1 ex-duo Rob Da Bank and Chris Coco will be releasing a new two disc compilation called “Listen Again” in December of this year. Rob Da Bank still hosts the BBC Radio show the Blue Room, which has been running since 2002, but partner Chris Coco is currently on hiatus presumably due to his grueling tour schedule as DJ for Robbie Williams concerts.

The two CDs offer a veritable treasure trove of eclecticism with Chris Coco showing support for the droning vocals of Arab Strap and the trip hop sounds of Nightmares on Wax while Rob Da Bank chose to represent the colourful language of Uffie and the jazzy drums of ‘S’posin’ by the Superimposers.

Rob Da Bank not only still champions the Blue Room radio show bt is also constantly busy organizing his annual Bestival festival which was held at the start of September and featured acts like Hot Chip, Ricardo Villalobos, Pet Shop Boys and Nathan Fake. While not busy DJing for the British king of pop Coco is promoting another compilatin of his called “Electracoustic” which will be released in November.

“Listen Again” will be released by Ether Music on December 5.

Disc One – Chris Coco
01. Josh Rouse / Oh, I Need All Of The Love
02. Skewiff / Man Of Constant Sorrow
03. Acid Casuals / Bowl me Over
04. Hard Fi / Cash Machine (Roots Manuva Mix)
05. Chris Coco / Andy Warhol
06. Prince Fatty / Nina's Dance
07. Arab Strap / Speed date (BBC Maida Vale Session)
08. The Freelance Hellraiser / Want You To Know
09. Nightmares on Wax / The Sweetest
10. James Yorkston / Shipwreckers (BBC Maida Vale Session)
11. Adem / Somethings going to come
12. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah / Details Of The War
13. Patrick & Eugene / Feeling Groovy

Disc Two – Rob Da Bank
01. Hess Is More / Yes Boss
02. Uffie / Pop The Glock
03. Kitty, Daisy, Lewis / Going up the country (BBC Maida Vale Session)
04. Amadou & Mariam / Realite
05. Jose Gonzalez / Crosses
06. The Superimposers / S'posin
07. E Berg / Love Your Bum
08. Bobby Marie / Rodeo
09. Gogol Bordello / Start Wearing Purple
10. Richie Phoe / Sinful
11. Rainbow Family / I can see a rainbow
12. King Creosote / Nothing compares to you (BBC Maida Vale Session)

Related Link