HigterFrequency OVERSEAS NEWS


Kenny Dope Gonzalez

international news _ 14th March, 2006

The Choice of a Master

Text by Nick Lawrence (HigherFrequency)

Although you are probably still avidly listening to your copy of Danny Howell's "Choice-A Collection of Classics" from January this year it is time to announce that next up to compile a mix for the series is Kenny 'Dope' Gonzalez. Kenny joins Masters At Work partner Louie Vega as well as John Digweed, Jeff Mills and Danny Tenaglia in a list of artists that reads like a who's who of dance music.

Azuli released the "Choices" compilation series in 2000 with the first edition being mixed by Frankie Knuckles. Since then the CD has experienced an irregular release schedule with four being released in 2004 while only a solitary mix came out the following year.

Kenny Dope's compilation, to be released on May 1, will as usual be a 2CD collection of the artist's favourite tracks from a long spanning career and will be released in both mixed and unmixed form. The mix represents a wide variety of artists and should provide a welcome change from the standard mix CDs out there with the likes of Kool & the Gang, James Brown and Earth Wind & Fire deviating from the names normally seen on compilation CDs.


01. The Fantastic Aleems / Confusion
02. Earth Wind & Fire / Evil
03. Dunn Pearson / Groove on Down
04. Skye / Ain't No Need
05. Level 42 / Starchild
06. Eddie Drennon / Do What You Gotta Do
07. Earons / Land of Hunger
08. Dayton / The Sound of Music
09. Rainbow Brown / Til You Surrender
10. Lucy Hawkins / Gotta Get Out Of Here
11. Kool & The Gang / Open Sesame
12. Norman Connors / Once I've Been There
13. The Beginning of the End / Come Down
14. Buari / Advice From Father
15. Milton Hamilton / Love Supreme
16. Serious Intention / You Don't Know
17. Sylvester / I Need You

CD 2
01. Tavares / It Only Takes a Minute
02. Exodus / Together Forever
03. James Brown / I'm Satisfied
04. Manhattan Transfer / Twilight Zone
05. Atmosfear / Dancing in Outer Space
06. Dazzle / You Dazzle Me
07. Ingram / Mi Sabrina Tequana
08. Freezez / Southern Freeez
09. BT Express / Energy Level
10. Cameo / The Sound Table
11. Kashmere Stage Band / Super Strut (Kenny Dope Mix)
12. Hokis Pokis / Nowhere (Danny Krivit Edit)

Related Link